Through the Lens - Inspired by Vintage - Rachel Saldana
Handmade Crush: Layer Cake Apron

Wedding Tales: Sustainable & Organic - Reid & Sarah

 I'd like to introduce you to Sarah and her now husband Reid. Sarah is the founder and designer behind Sarah Waldo Organic Clothing for Children. Her business envelopes her beliefs of preserving the world around her with sustainable clothing using organic and natural fibers.   Their special day carried out this same belief with a beautiful organic and nature inspired feel.


How did you meet?


Reid and I met over the summer on Cape Cod. Reid was a tennis pro at the local tennis club and I brought the kids I nannied for in for lessons every week. The kids adored him and it didn’t take long for me to be head over heels as well!

Jagger-0543

Did you do anything to make your wedding "green" or "eco-friendly"?


Jagger-0391

* All of the food at the wedding was local, seasonal and organic. We had East Dennis Oysters for appetizers and spring rolls filled with seasonal veggies.  We served dinner family style as Tapas to reduce waste; Nantucket Scallops over corn relish with lobster bits, organic hanger steak and grilled seasonal vegetables... Dessert was a buffet of family-made favorites- Strawberry + Peach Ice Cream, Mom's Chocolate chip cookies and Chef Paul's truffles. Even the beer at the bar was Cape Cod IPA!

Jagger-0970

* Rather than bouquets of flowers on the tables (that normally get thrown away) we had hurricane vases with sand and sea glass and soy candles.  I also had decided early on in the planning process that I did not want to have bridesmaids in the traditional sense. Most of my friends were either pregnant, photographing (!) or had many other bridesmaids duties this summer and I just didn’t want to ask these great ladies to all buy matching, expensive dresses.  I wanted their individuality to shine and to let them sit and enjoy the ceremony with their significant others.  So, instead, I asked my nearest and dearest to be my “bouquet girls;” I came down the aisle with my dad without a bouquet. Our minister offered a lovely welcome and expressed that everyone was here with us because they had been such an important part of our lives- both individually and together. To signify this, a few of my closest friends, came from their seats, one by one, with a single flower to give me with a hug, kiss, whisper for both Reid and I. These flowers formed by bouquet! My 94-year-old Grama tied them together with a ribbon.

Jagger-0931
* I made the napkins for the place settings from natural, eco-friendly linen. After the event we gave a dozen to everyone who helped to make the day a success!

* So many of the details were homemade! See Below...

What was your favorite wedding detail?

Jagger-0626

My favorite details had to be the flower girl’s ensembles. I am an organic childrenswear designer, so I made the girls' outfits; dresses in the colors of sea glass and paired them with beautiful beaded shrugs to dress them up. My mother made Nantucket Lightship Baskets for each of the girls with a personalized nameplate. They really just looked so adorable and happy!

Any vendor recommendations?

Amanda Harris from Orchard Cove Photography. Honestly, I could not have dreamt of more perfect pictures to capture our style and the mood of the day. She rolled with all the last minute changes and literally went unnoticed throughout the ceremony, which was so important to our parents.

The Carlos de Leon band out of Providence provided us with fantastic Cuban Jazz all night long.
Chef Paul Lively from Brewster, MA was wonderful to work with and really worked with us on creating a menu that wasn’t traditional “wedding food!”

Comments

The comments to this entry are closed.